Save 50% off! Join our Exclusive Membership and get 50% off right away!

Its 5th Edition! MTN UG Hip Hop Awards Returns, See Full Nominations List

UG Hip Hop awards which are in their fifth edition, and organised by telco and mobile money transfer service provider MTN Uganda and The Tribe UG which is an online hip hop and marketing platform, They seek to recognise the best hip hop releases and artists in Uganda, with one category allocated to East African rappers. 

“Hip hop artists continue to shine,” the awards’ organiser, Afsa Umutesi, said. “Out of the top 10 most requested songs on local radio, six are hip hop. We are happy with this progress and would like to thank MTN Uganda for supporting us for the past five years.” 

Voting is underway and the public can vote via the MTN Pulse official website Here

Below are all the nominees: 

Male Artist of the Year

  • Jim Nola MC
  • Judas Rap Knowledge da Akbar
  • St. Maxi Mayne
  • Navio
  • Fik Fameika

Female Artist of the Year

  • Recho Ray
  • Felista Di Superstar
  • Stone Age
  • MC Yalla

East Africa Artist of the Year

  • Khaligraph Jones (Kenya)
  • Joh Makini (Tanzania)
  • Nyashinski (Kenya)
  • Femi One (Kenya)
  • King Kaka (Kenya)

Northern Uganda Artist of the Year

  • Toobi Smallz
  • Judas Rap Knowledge da Akbar
  • Issachar
  • Stayput
  • Sinnoh The GOAT
  • T’worthy Wyler 

Western Uganda Artist of the Year

  • Truth 256
  • Lithan MC
  • Crazies Wispa
  • Uzi Malcon Muzik

Eastern Uganda Artist of the Year

  • Sparo UG
  • Leumas Owabajaja
  • AJ Stylz
  • BMG Music

Central Uganda Artist of the Year

  • Feffe Busi
  • Gravity
  • Felista Di Superstar
  •  Da Agent

Rookie of the Year

  • Ghetto Upgrade
  • Stone Age
  • Dallas Plein
  • King Missy
  • Stayput
  • The Homie

Inspirational Song of the Year

  • ‘Mbikwasagwe’ – Flex D’Paper ft. Shena Skies
  • ‘Mu Yesu Mulimu Work’ – Vann Mesh 
  • ‘Dream On’ – Stone Age 
  • ‘Abikolako’ – Chillz Kabejja 
  • ‘Never Alone’ – Barna ft. Jamie
  • ‘Taata’ – St. Maxie Mayne 

Collaboration of the Year

  • ‘Beera Powa’ – Elijah Kitaka ft. Sylvester and Abrams
  • ‘Vvamuno’ – Mr Lean UG ft. Byg Ben Sukuya 
  • ‘Abaana Beeka’ – Navio ft. Joh Makini and Flex D’Paper
  • ‘July Cypher’ – 207 on the Beat ft. King Eddy, Mykes, Don, J.J Scorpion, Invizibo and Simo Omutafuta

Lyricist of the Year

  • ‘Uganda Cypher’ – The Myth
  • ‘African Warrior’ – Judas Rap Knowledge da Akbar
  • ‘Kukunku 3’ – St. Maxie Mayne
  • ‘Dear Hip Hop’ – GNL Zamba

Hip Hop DJ of the Year

  • Drop Out
  • Slaughter Elly
  • DJ Cassie
  • Sal the DJ
  • DJ Cisse
  • Deejay Crim

Hip Hop Media Personality of the Year

  • Big Kahuna
  • Julio and Timothy Code
  • The Mith and DJ Crim
  • Still Breezy
  • Jokwiz Klean Kwizera